Decisions taken by the Cabinet at its Meeting held on 23.11.2011

Decisions taken by the Cabinet at its Meeting held on 23.11.2011

1. 2012 declared as the Year for a Trilingual Sri Lanka

  • The Government has decided to declare year 2012 as the Year for a Trilingual Sri Lanka. Because the Government observed that one of the far-seeing initiatives that needs to be taken to prevent the resurgence of terrorism which ravaged the country for over three decades is to encourage the people of Sri Lanka to communicate effectively in all three languages.
  • In recognition of this need, a Ten Year Plan formulated as the basis for a National Programme to motivate the people to acquire trilingual skills, presented to the Cabinet by the President, was approved for implementation.
  • A Co-ordinating Unit for the purpose will be established at the Presidential Secretariat. According to this Plan, the Year 2012 is to be declared as the Year for a Trilingual Sri Lanka.

2. Implementation of a Strategic Plan for the Promotion of Ceylon Tea


  • On a proposal made by Mr. Mahinda Samarasinghe, Minister of Plantation Industries cabinet decided to implement a strategic plan for the promotion of Ceylon Tea over a period of next five years.
  • Due to its superior characteristics, Ceylon Tea is the most expensive black tea in the world and it has become necessary to take immediate action to arrest the situation of our teas being replaced with low priced multi origin blended teas.
  • Tea industry in Sri Lanka provides direct and indirect employment to around 1.5 million people in the country. Contribution of tea to the total export earnings of Sri Lanka in 2010 was 15.6% which is an increase of 16.1% over the previous year.
  • Sri Lanka is the largest exporter of orthodox black tea which is globally known as Ceylon Tea.
  • This five year strategic plan expects to –
    • sustain the current demand for Ceylon Tea in vulnerable markets and increase               demand in potential markets;
    • rebuild the image of Pure Ceylon Tea and create the environment to reach the consumer;
    • create awareness at consumer level on “Lion Logo” Trade Mark; and
    • enhance demand for Pure Ceylon Tea packed in Sri Lanka and marketed globally.

3. Korean Project for International Agricultural (KOPIA) Centre is to be set up in Sri Lanka –


  • The proposal made by Mr. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Minister of Agriculture to enter into a Memorandum of Understanding with the Rural Development Administration (RDA) in the Republic of Korea to establish a Korean Project for International Agriculture Centre in Sri Lanka, was approved by the Cabinet.
  • RDA is solely responsible for Rural Development, particularly agricultural research and development and extension in Korea. Ministry of Agriculture has been closely working with RDA of Korea for agricultural research and development since 1975.
  • The following programmes are to be implemented under this MOU:
    • Agricultural Research and Development Projects agreed upon by both parties ;
    • Training activities of Sri Lankan farmers and Sri Lankan Researchers ~ 
    • Exchange of research inputs. publications and other technical information ; and 
    • Other activities of mutual interest

4. A Bhikku Hostel for the Buddhasravaka Bhikku University, Anuradhapura


  • The Anuradhapura Buddhasravaka Bhikku University has been relocated and the construction of the administration building has been completed under an earlier Cabinet decision.
  • The proposal made by Mr S.B. Dissanayake, Minister of Higher Education to construct a four storied building at a cost of Rs.118 million to provide residential facilities for Bhikku students was approved by the Cabinet.
  • This project will be started in 2011 in order to complete the construction within the next 10 month.

5. Cabinet nod to conduct Pre-Feasibility Studies for the Proposed Badulla- Bibila-Wellawaya New Railroad

  • The proposal made by Mr Kumara Welgama, Minister of Transport to conduct a per-feasibility study of the Proposed Badulla-Bibila-Wellawaya New Railroad was approved by the cabinet.
  • Construction of this new railroad is a project identified under the Mahinda Chinthana programme.
  • The contract for conducting this pre feasibility studies covering south eastern part of the country including city centres Badulla, Bibile, Wellawaya, Moneragala and Embilipitiya covering approximately 80 km long will be entrusted to Central Engineering Consultancy Bureau CECB.

6. CAs appointed for enterprises coming under the Revival of Underperforming Enterprises and Underutilized Assets Act


  • On a proposal made by President Mahinda Rajapaksa the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Competent Authorities for the enterprises listed in the Schedules to the Act No.43 of 2011.
  • The objective of the Government is to provide for the effective management, administration and revival of these enterprises in the national interest, having vested them in the State.
  • It has been observed that most of the enterprises related to the above have obtained many BOI concessions, and had not fulfilled the assurances given to the BOI, such as further investments, ensuring exports etc.
  • Accordingly the cabinet has approved the appointment of the following as Competent Authorities –

(i)Mr. Kalinga Indatissa, Attorney-at-Law;- CA for Lanka Tractors Limited (Properties situated at Pettah and Narahenpita), Charmers Granaries (property situated at Pettah), Ceylinco Leisure Properties Ltd. (properties situated at Kollupitiya, Colomb 3) and Intertrade Lanka (private) Limited (Property situated at Fort, Colombo)

(ii) Mr. Senaka Walgampaya, Attorney-at-Law;Hotel as CA for Hotel Developers Lanka plc (HDL)

(iii) District Secretary, Hambantota- CA for Pelwatte Sugar Industries Ltd.

(iv) District Secretary, Moneragala – CA for Sevanagala Sugar Industries Ltd.

(v) District Secretary Badulla – CA for Colombo Commercial Company Limited (Badulla Property); and,

(vi) Mr. Tuly Cooray- CA for all the remainder of Under Utilized Assets (being closed BOI Factories) -;.

The Cabinet also decided to appoint the following Ministerial Sub Committee and an Officials’ Committee consisting of six Officials to assist this Committee, to ensure the overall monitoring of the related aspects in a timely manner:

* Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, Minister of Environment – (Chairman)
* Dilan Perera, Minister of Foreign Employment and Welfare (Member)
* Reginald Cooray, Minister of Minor Export Crop Promotion (Member);
* Lakshman Seneviratne, Minister of Productivity Promotion (Member); and
* Geethanjana Gunawardena, Deputy Minister of Finance and Planning (Member);

  • Appointment of a three- member separate Compensation Tribunal under the chairmanship of the Chief Government Valuer was also approved by the Cabinet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.