Dilshan, Sangakkara and Malinga make ICC ODI Team of the Year

Sept 12, Colombo: Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga, who were all part of the 2011 World Cup runner-up team have been selected to the ODI Team of the Year, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced Monday.

A specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd has elected the team members.

The ICC made the announcement ahead of the LG ICC Awards ceremony which is being held this evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London to recognize the best international players and officials of the past 12 months.

India’s World Cup winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been elected as the captain and wicket keeper of the team for the fourth year in a row. Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, and Zaheer Khan of India also joined their captain in the ODI Team of the Year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.