Government opens new fuel stations in Northern Sri Lanka

July 15, Colombo: Sri Lankas government-owned Ceylon Petroleum Corporation is opening seven new fuel stations in the Northern Province today and tomorrow.

The new fuel stations are in Vavuniya, Omanthai, Mullaitivu, Viswamadu, Akkarayankulam, Mallavi and Uduppidi. Some of these areas were controlled by the Tamil Tiger rebels before their defeat in 2009.

Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa is the guest of honor at the opening ceremonies.

Meanwhile, Managing Director of Lanka Indian Oil Corporation (LIOC) Suresh Kumar told media that his company was also planning to open seven new fuel stations in the Northern Province during this year in addition to the three fuel stations that are already operating in the region.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.