Jaffna parliamentary seats to be increased with more voters

July 30, Colombo: The Elections Commissioner of Sri Lanka, Mahinda Deshapriya has said that when there is a reduction in the number of voters from an electoral area, the number of parliamentary seats allocated to respective area need to be adjusted accordingly.

Deshapriya has noted that more parliamentary seats would be allocated to the Jaffna District when the number of voters increases in the area.

He has said that while there were around 800,000 voters in the 2008 Jaffna District electoral list, the number had reduced to approximately 480,000 persons by 2010.

The registration of voters in 2010 had seen the deletion of around 320,000 names from the list since they had left Jaffna.

The Elections Department had been using the 1989 electoral list until the 2008 voter registration was conducted.

The 2008 electoral list was used for the last Presidential and Parliamentary elections.

The Elections Department has stated that while 11 members were elected from the Jaffna District in 1989, the number was reduced to 10 in 2000 and nine in 2004.

The Elections Department has announced that the number of parliamentary seats allocated to the Jaffna District would be reduced by four.

The four slots will be added to the Ratnapura, Matara, Kurunegala and Badulla districts.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.