New selection committee of Sri Lanka Cricket announced

Jan 19, Colombo: Sri Lanka’s cricket governing body Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has appointed a new selection committee for the national cricket team today.

Sports minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage named the four-member panel of selectors at a meeting of the SLC held today.

A former national cricketer and former chairman Asantha de Mel will head the new Cricket selection Committee comprising Amal Silva, Hemantha Wickramaratne and Don Arunasiri as members.

The Minister has given a year’s time to get revive the national team that has had a miserable run for the last nine months since their runner-up performance at the 2011 World Cup in India.

Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage said new selectors would pick the team for the upcoming Australia tour.

Meanwhile, media reports speculated that following the dismal performance in the current tour in South Africa, former skipper Mahela Jayawardena would be re-appointed as the captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team and the newly appointed Australian coach Geoff Marsh would be replaced by former South African national coach Graham Ford.

The Sports Ministry is also waiting for recommendations by SLC to make changes to the Sri Lankan cricket team.

The Minister has instructed the newly elected President of Sri Lanka cricket Upali Dharmadasa to submit a report within a week after studying the present woeful situation of the national team.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.