Sri Lanka Marxist party re-elects incumbent as leader, expels 9 dissidents

Jan 02, Colombo: Sri Lanka’s Marxist party Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna Sunday re-elected the incumbent Somawansa Amarasinghe as the party leader and decided to expel nine dissidents from the party.

The appointment of Amarasinghe as the party leader was announced at the special convention held Sunday at Debarawewa in Tissamaharama.

Amarasinghe has also been appointed as the Secretary of Foreign Affairs, according to party sources.

The party also decided to expel nine members of the dissident faction and appointed 11 new members to the central committee of the party.

The expelled dissidents include MP Ajith Kumara, the Convener of the Movement for People’s Struggle Chameera Koswatta and Spokesperson for the dissident’s group, Pubudu Jayagoda.

The dissident faction of sought an injunction order against the JVP special convention saying it was illegal to hold the convention but the Colombo District Court judge Ranjith N. Wathupola Friday (30) rejected their petition.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.