Sri Lanka prepares to host T/20 World Cricket Championship in September

Jan 26, Colombo: Sri Lanka in agreement with the International Cricket Council (ICC) will host the fourth Twenty 20 World Cricket Championship between September 18 and October 7.

Teams from 12 member countries, 10 full teams and two qualifiers will take part in the men’s event, while eight teams will contest the women’s tournament.

A total of 52 matches will be played over 20 days at four venues – R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Pallekele, Hambantota and Galle, with R Premadasa Stadium hosting the finals on Sunday 7 October.

Sri Lanka cabinet has given the green light to a proposal made by the Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage to proceed with the programme of work.

The Minister has informed the Cabinet that the ICC would provide a direct grant of US$ 9.4 million to Sri Lanka as expenses of hosting the tournament in addition to another US$ 30 million, the ICC expects to spend in Sri Lanka for the tournament.

Sri Lanka expects the event will promote country’s image and accordingly, the Tourist Board, Hotels Corporation and the Board of Investment coming under the Ministry of Economic Development and also the Ministry of National Heritage will plan promotional activities to develop cultural and tourist attractions, the government said.

Sri Lanka co-hosted the ICC 2011 Cricket World Cup with India and Bangladesh.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.