Three-member Indian government delegation to visit Sri Lanka on June 16

June 05, Colombo: A three-member delegation representing the Indian government is expected to visit Sri Lanka on a two day official visit commencing June 16, Indian officials have reportedly stated.

An Indian High Commission official has been quoted in the media saying that a team comprising National Security Advisor Shiv Shankar Menon, Foreign Secretary Nirupama Rao, and Defence Secretary Pradeep Kumar is likely to be in Sri Lanka on June 16 and 17 to discuss a wide range of bilateral issues.

The Indian team is to meet a three-member Sri Lankan team comprising President’s Secretary, Lalith Weeratunga, Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa, and Defence Secretary Gotabhaya Rajapaksa.

The Indian media has reported that when the two teams were set up during the Eelam War IV, the understanding was that they would meet periodically to discuss all bilateral issues.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.